Mac Eyeshadow in Goldmine

Another Mac Eyeshadow up for review!  I have posted several times about my dislike of Mac products.  However, since I have them I figure I should review them.

I actually use a good deal of Mac products despite having nicer products I could use.  This is simply because I am attempting to use up products I own and I decided to start by using up the products I am not a huge fan of first.

I would rate this product a 5/10

Pros:

Like the other ‘lustre’ eyeshadow I own form mac I find that they are easy to work with to some extent.  They typically give a sheer wash of color with high shine and no obvious chunks of glitter.

Cons:

I have previously said that the lustre shadows are not a good Idea for those with older skin.  When I say older skin I mean anyone who is even close to starting to show signs of aging.  This formula can accentuate fine lines, wrinkles and with out a base will crease on your eyelids.

I also have an issue with the color of this product, though that could be in part due to my having slightly discolored eyelids.  In the pan it looks like a true gold and almost metallic.  However, once on your skin it has more of a yellow-ish pea soup tone.  Making it not the most wearable color unless paired and layered with warmer colors to help contrast the cooler tone.

Who I would recommend this product to:

  • Those who love metallic high shine eyeshadow
  • Younger individuals who have not begun showing signs of aging

This product can be purchased from Mac Cosmetics.

This product was purchased with my own money for my own personal use.

 

2 Comments to “Mac Eyeshadow in Goldmine”

  1. I love Goldmine but I generally reach of UD Baked for a nice gold shadow, I love how buttery UD shadows are.

  2. I agree that there are much better gold’s that this one. I actually also have urban decay’s Eldorado which i find has a slightly warmer cast, but is almost exactly the same. In hindsight I wish I had swatched them next to each other.