August 2011 Favorites

I apologize for being silent for the past week.  Hurricane Irene knocked out the power for a few days.  That combined with trying to finalize my school transfer and ensure I am in the proper classes for when school starts next week has been eating up my time.  I promise I am back, and if I have to cut back on blogging during the school year I shall be sure to warn you first.

Essie Matte About You – I bought this a while ago when the whole ‘matte’ polish trend started.  At the time I hated how the matte polish looked on me, which did make this a wasteful purchase.  However, I have found that this looks great on top of sparkle or glitter polishes and makes them look almost like suede!

Ecru Knit Cotton Back Scrubber – This was purchased a few weeks ago from knitpiks on etsy.  I had been looking for a great back scrubber, but most of what I found seemed more abrasive than I was willing to use (I do have psoriasis and as a result try to be gentle with my skin).  This is easy to use (you don’t need to be a contortionists to actually get it to reach your back) and holds product nicely.  It so far has been durable, my only suggestion is to stretch it back into proper shape before it dries (other wise it can be a little bit harder to use).

Fresh Sugar Lychee Eau De Parfum – I am not a huge fragrance wearer.  In fact I only own a few bottles of perfume, most older than I would like to admit.  However, In the summer time I do like to switch it up from my normal ‘shampoo’ scent.  This perfume is light, hard to explain (due to the lychee) it is sweet, citrus with a hint of a french milled soap smell.  This is not overly sweet (like some of the other ‘sugar’ scented perfumes) but just has a slight hint of molasses.  A great perfume for those looking for something a little different than a regular citrus scent.

Eucerin Calming Creme – For years I have had dry skin on my legs.  However this was never to much of an issue so I did not moisturize.  However in the past few years my legs become EXTREMELY itchy at night.  To the point where I will be scratching for a half hour, at which point the skin tends to clear.  At first I did not feel a huge change with this product.  But with continued use it has eliminated my scratching at night-time.

Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Seasilk – I have only been using this for a short time but do enjoy it.  While it is not great in the detangling department it hydrates my hair a great deal.  this helps my curls look better, is light enough to not weigh my fine hair down and does not look greasy.  It is supposedly designed specifically for blonde hair, but I have not noticed any changes specific to my hair color.

What are your favorite products this month?

One Comment to “August 2011 Favorites”

  1. I have a hedgehog and I love the name Haute Hedgehog! Made me imagine Bramble strutting down a catwalk.