Eyeko Minty Fat Balm

I have tried a few of the fat balms, and by a few I mean two.  This minty one, and the strawberry one.  I may not use this on a regular basis however I do like it for when I want a ‘semi-nude’ lip.

Since the majority of nude lipsticks tend to make me look a bit like a zombie I usually avoid them.  However, this paired with a nice clear gloss (as seen in the august 2011 beauty look) creates a nice subtle nude lip.

I would rate this product 8/10

Pros:

I rather enjoy the color of this.  A milky light pink color that I find to be rather flattering.  It is also surprisingly pigmented for what I consider to be a tinted chap stick.

The color is also light enough that it can be used on the cheeks as a highlight.  That being said, I do wish that the product did not have a ‘mint’ scent.  The mint scent tends to be a dime a dozen in lip balms, and can get a bit annoying over time.  This mint is much more subtle than in chapsticks such as burt’s bees.  However, had this been an unscented product I think it also would have been a much more versatile product.  However with the mint scent, it can not be used as a highlight around the eye area (Yes, I know from experience.  Not from this specific blam, but one equally as minty).

Cons:

As I said previously I am not a huge fan of the minty scent of the product.  Aside from that there are not a huge number of issues.  It is a bit on the drying side and may make your lips feel tight.  Since it is a shimmery color you may want to use a moisturizing chapstick bellow it, so that you don’t end up with fine lines on your lips showing through.

Who I would recommend this product to:

  • Those looking for a light milky pink lip balm.
  • Individuals who are a sucker for cute packaging.

This product is available for purchase from Eyeko.

This product was purchased with my own money for my own personal use.

4 Comments to “Eyeko Minty Fat Balm”

  1. Been debating trying these out too, Could maybe try
    vasaline on top of it too for a glossier look…

  2. These are always so tempting when I see them, but I know
    I’d never get around to using them…Great review! Just discovered
    your blog today; it’s amazing! :) I wish I were as good at writing
    blog posts as you!

  3. They are over all nice. The colors names match their scent (ie. strawberry smells a great deal like fruit by the foot). So if there is a scent you think you wont like (in my case the frosting scent) I would skip that color.

  4. I agree, most of my eyeko stuff I have since gotten rid of since I do not typically reach for it.
    Thank you for the compliment! I should go brag about that to my high school english teachers who thought otherwise. The more you write the better you get, since you tend to be more willing to let your own voice show through.