Urban Decay Surreal Skin Cream to Power Foundation

I picked this up a while ago when it first came out.  I am a huge sucker for anything that is “brand new” even if it is something I know is not for me.  This was one of those cases, foundation wise I wear strictly liquid foundation.

As a result, my view will be a bit biased.  I enjoy the light feel and easy application of liquid foundations, so this product did have a bit of a learning curve for me.  However, in time I have fully understood how to use cream foundations, though am still not a huge fan.

I would rate this product a 3/10

Pros:

This product has a HUGE amount of coverage.  Like spackle it will cover every dip, bump and imperfection in your skin.  Beyond that, there was just not much great to say about this product.

Cons:

I am not sure exactly were to start.  For those who are used to cream foundations and enjoy using them there may not be quite as many issues as I personally did.  I found the product to be heavy and mask like.  A sad consequence of most full coverage foundations.  Also, you may have noticed in the title that it is sold as a ‘cream to powder’ formulation.  On my face it seemed to stay on just the cream side of things.  This causes quite a bit of an issue with the product transferring throughout the day.

The color range, as usual is pretty limited.  The lightest color, and the one I have, is Illusion.  I found this to be more suited to an individual with a darker skin tone than me.  The product does come with an applicator brush.  However this brush is long and thin, pretty much the typical stinky brush that comes with cream foundations.  The worst part about the brush though, is that the cream is so thick, and the brush so flimsy that it tends to more just push the product around in the jar rather than actually picking it up.

Who I would recommend this product to:

  • Those in Cool and dry environments where this product wont just melt right off
  • Those looking for a cream foundation, in the middle of the shade range
  • Individuals who want a full coverage foundation

This product can be purchased from Sephora

Do you prefer Cream, Liquid or Powder Foundation?

This product was purchased by me for my own personal use.

