OPI Rapid Dry Top Coat

Well, this was purchased for very obvious reason.  I suffer from the very common affliction of smudging my nail polish immediately after applying it.  I was hoping that this speedy drying formula would counter that issue, and enable me to have nice looking manicures.

I can not say exactly when, or where I picked up this specific polish, though I can narrow it down to one of two places.  I also have been using it exclusively as my top coat for several months now.  This is not so much out of a deep-seated love of the product, but out of a desire to use up the entirety of the bottle.

I would give this product a 5/10

Pros:

This does seal relatively quickly.  While you still need to wait just about overnight for the drying to complete (as you would with any other top coat) it creates a protective barrier that keeps minor bumps from damaging your polish.

Cons:

This product is thick, so much so that despite being less than half way though the bottle obtaining enough product at one time to cover a single nail is becoming difficult.  That may be the brush being short, but I think it also is just a thickly applying product.  It results in the profile of your nail appearing to be about 2-3 mm above where it actually is.

Tip wear with this polish can be a problem.  For those who do not know tip wear is over time where the polish wears away only at the very tip of your nail’s creating a white line on the end (and no this is not an easy way to get the look of a french manicure).  From my wanderings around the web many seem to think that this a result of the fast drying action of the polish.  Regardless, it is a bit annoying, but certainly not a deal breaker.

Who I would recommend this product to:

  • Those doing manicures in short time spans
  • Those who typically only wear their manicures for a day or two

This product can be purchased at Nail Polish Pro.

What is your favorite top coat?

This product was purchased by me for personal use.

