Review: Neutrogena Healthy Skin Foundation

I have gone through several different foundation types within the past year or so.  This has been in part due to my inability to determine my skin type, but also due to being unable to find a foundation match in many of the more well-known brands.  This all came to a head about 2 weeks ago, when i realized that despite it being a humid summer my skin has been exceptionally dry lately.  The entirety of my foundation collection at that point in time contained the words “oil free” in their title.  While the oil free foundation can provide great mattifying and staying powder it was just caking up on my dry skin.

I took this opportunity to not only try a new foundation, but also test out one that is at a lower price point.  As a full-time college student, living on a tight budget drugstore foundation is a more attainable purchase than the “high street” brands.  I picked up the Neutrogena Healthy Skin Foundation in Classic Ivory 10.  This is the lightest shade in the Neutrogena line of foundations and falls somewhere between a MAC’s Nw 10 and Nw 15.

I would give this product a 7/10.

Pros:

The ease of application of this foundation is superior.  I have tried applying it using both my fingers and a stippling brush (which is my preferred method of foundation application).  The foundation gives sufficient time to fully blend and apply, without taking so excessively long to dry.  I have as of yet not had any transfer of foundation from my face to any other area of skin, or my cell phone.  This does not create the feeling of a “mask” that can be unbearable, yet still provides a smooth feeling to the touch.

My favorite part?  I am rather fond of the finish on the foundation.  There is no shimmer or glitter as has been reported in some of the other “real skin look” makeups.  In addition, while this is a sheer to light coverage foundation it can very easily be built up.  Best of all? this product is SPF 20 which is the perfect amount of sunscreen for the average winter day.

Cons:

There is a fairly limited shad range of this product at this time.  This is not a problem known only to this foundation, but is also known to all of the Neutrogena brand of foundations.  For those who are not between approximately Nc/w 10 and Nc/w 40 (give or take) will most likely not find a match within this foundation.

So, this point may not apply to many, unless you also happen to do your makeup by a carpeted area and also are a klutz.  That being said, removal is difficult.  I spilled a large amount on my hand (some of which got on the carpet)  Without using an oil based cleanser on my hand, i essentially had to rub my hand raw to remove the foundation.  In this 5 minute span of intense hand scrubbing the few drops had dried into my carpet and have been stubbornly holding their ground against carpet cleaners.

Who I Would Recommend This To:

  • Want light to medium foundation
  • Prefer a foundation with SPF
  • Looking for a “natural skin” finish
  • Wear a foundation within the range of shades offered (approximately Nc/w 10 to Nc/w 40 in MA

Those interested in purchasing the Neutrogena Healthy Skin Foundation, can be purchased by clicking on the top photo, or at Drugstore.com along with your local drugstore or pharmacy.

