Chanel Aqualumiere in Waikiki (31)

Woops!  So some of you may have noticed that this item has been discontinued since the Chanel Rouge Coco lipsticks came out.  While this item may no longer be available, I thought some would be interested in seeing it since I find the finish to be similar to that of the Chanel Rouge Coco Shines.

Purchased on a Chanel binge during the Neiman Marcus beauty event last January, Waikiki caught my eye as a subtle and potentially my lips but better shade.  While the swatches shown on Neiman Marcus are notoriously bad, I was pleasantly surprised with the shade when it arrived.  I have not worn this lipstick a great deal, not for lack of enjoyment but simply because my lipstick collection is expansive.

I would give this product a 7/10

Pros:

This is an unscented lipstick (HUGE plus to me!) that has a semi sheer color and slight shine/sparkle.  While this lipstick is ‘sparkly’ for lack of a better term it is not so much so that it would be considered frosty.  The color goes on smooth, and since it is subtle feathering is not an issue.  Further despite being subtle the color is buildable with out glopping up.

Cons:

This formula has been retired, and I can think of one major reason why.  Despite the beautiful color range and sun protectant in the product, the lipstick failed greatly in the moisturizing department.  Not only does the product leave your lips feeling dry, it also does have a tendency to exaggerate the fine lines in your lips.

Who I Would recommend This To:

  • Those looking for a subtle shine
  • Those who have lips without any dried skin
  • People who are willing to layer this product with chapsticks and lip gloss to diminish the ‘wrinkling’ effect

This product was purchased with my own money for personal use.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.